Waffles

“And in the morning, I’m making waffles!” …said someone else. Not me. Not ever.IMG_0987
In my profile for a recipe curation website, my inability to make waffles earned a mention. Either they’re too dense & chewy, or the flavor is off, or I’m impatient and take shortcuts. Beating egg whites dirties another bowl, and the red light on the iron is only a suggestion. Maybe you can see why I could never conquer this recipe. Until, that is, my boss took pity on my attempts. What follows is the recipe that he gave me. Yes, I even whipped the egg whites. Fine, I’ll admit that it’s worth it.IMG_0972IMG_0980IMG_0984IMG_0988
Waffles
Yes, you’re going to want the batter lumpy, as per normal waffle instructions. But here is the part that I never realized. The egg whites will get flat if you leave the batter on the counter. Unless you have a fleet of waffle irons, keep the batter in the refrigerator while it’s waiting to be used.

1¾ cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1½ Tbsp sugar
2 eggs, whites and yolks separated
1¾ cups milk
½ cup canola oil

In a medium bowl stir together flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Make a well in the center. In another bowl beat egg yolks slightly. Stir in milk and oil.
Add egg yolk mixture all at once to the dry mixture. Stir just till moistened (should be lumpy).
Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form (tips stand straight up). Gently fold egg whites into flour and egg yolk mixture, leaving a few fluffs of egg white. Do not overmix.
Spoon waffle batter into heated your waffle iron, making sure not to overfill it.
WAIT UNTIL THE WAFFLE IRON TELLS YOU IT’S READY (that note is mostly for me)

One thought on “Waffles

Leave a Reply

