Cut-Out Cookies

This morning, I woke up feeling a little homesick. Articles need to be edited, laundry needs to be washed, and run needs to be run. Instead I was drinking tea and flipping through my grandma’s handwritten recipes. I was on the last page when I found the perfect Sunday-morning recipe. Cut-out cookies. Trust me, it is the breakfast of champions. And the lunch of champions. And probably the dinner too, but I’ll let you know.DSC00156My younger brother loves these cookies. He asks for them every few weeks and my mother (most of the time) begrudgingly humors him. They take a little more time than regular cookies since they need to be rolled out. And you have to keep a careful eye on the baking time. Things can go from buttery and soft to burnt and crispy in a matter of 30 seconds.DSC00148DSC00154DSC00160Cut-Out Cookies
Normally, these are made with a powder-sugar frosting. But I find that it’s too sweet for me. When I’m at home and these are being made, I normally request a few (or a few dozen…) be made without frosting. But do whatever works for you. Frosting is especially good when you’re bringing these to a holiday party and you want everything to be pink or orange or blue. Colored frosting is much less worrying than colored cookies.

3 cups flour
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp baking powder
dash salt
1 cup shortening
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
½ vanilla
½ lemon flavoring (optional)

Preheat oven to 400oF.
Whisk together flour, soda, powder, and salt. Cut in shortening like pie crust.
Beat eggs. Add sugar and vanilla (and flavoring if using). Stir in to the butter mixture.
On a floured surface, roll out dough until about ¼-inch thick. Cut out cookies, using whatever shape you want and line them on an ungreased baking sheet.
Bake for 5-7 minutes, keeping a careful eye on the cookies. They should be ready when there is just barely a golden tint on the very outside edges.

Leave a Reply

