Brownies III

My friend and I keep a running tally of desserts at my house. This number includes only baked goods. If we counted the multitude of half-empty ice cream pints of the constantly replenished candy bowl, the numbers would reach absurd levels. Our normal count hovers around two. But then Thanksgiving happened. I m not exaggerating when I say that we started the day with four pies, a batch of cookies, some puppy chow, and a Texas sheet cake, for a grand total of seven desserts. But I wasn’t done yet. The end of the celebration had a fresh batch of brownies. Obviously, no one was upset.

This is the third and final brownie recipe in my arsenal. I promise it was worth the wait. It i nothing like the first two and is actually much easier to make. But it isn’t pretty. The batter doesn’t spread very well, so the top is never flat. To try and fix this, I decided to layer things differently. No dice. having the caramel and chips on the top made the rows hard to cut. So bite the bullet and deal with a funny looking but delicious dessert. Or cover it with frosting.
Karl’s Brownies
The original title of these brownies advises you to watch yourself, because the brownies are addictive. So I’ll pass on the same warning to you, but I do so with chocolate around my lips.

1 box German chocolate cake mix
16oz caramels
1 cup evaporated milk, divided
⅓ cup butter, melted
1 cup pecans, chopped
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350oF.
In a small sauce pan over medium-low heat, melt the caramels with ½ cup of milk. Stir continuously.
Combine cake mix, remaining milk, and butter. Fold in pecans.
In a greased 9-in x 9-in pan, pour in half of the batter and spread evenly. Bake for 6 minutes. Remove from oven, scatter with chocolate chips, evenly layer the caramel, then crumble the rest of the cake mix on top.
Bake for another 15-18 minutes.

Leave a Reply

