Brownies II

As a current student, I can tell you that right around now is when things start to snowball. The free time that was so shamelessly wasted at the beginning of the semester has floated away, leaving trails of books and first-drafts of papers. People deal with this stress differently. I know that my dad lost 10 pounds his first semester in medical school, because he wouldn’t find the time to eat. I do not share this problem. Food becomes a rare comfort in weeks like this, and, as my previous roommates can attest to, the dessert to person ratio during this time period explodes.Allow me to introduce you to the best fix for a 1:00 AM chocolate craving. These brownies, opposed to the previous recipe, are rich. Really rich. You end up eating them in tiny pieces. However, you also end up eating about 20 of little pieces before dessert-time has ended.

Kay’s Brownies
This brownie recipe comes from one of our family friends. I’ve actually made these brownies with her daughter, although I must admit I probably ate more batter than brownie. I sometimes half the recipe because I need a check to make sure I don’t eat a crazy amount. My mother, on the other hand, doubles it.

¾ cup melted butter
1½ cups sugar
1½ tsps vanilla
3 eggs, beaten
¾ cup flour
½ cup cocoa
½ tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350oF.
Mix butter and sugar together until consistency is smooth. Stir in vanilla and eggs, followed by the remaining ingredients.
Pour into a prepared pan (I’m flexible about the size–go crazy), and bake for 35-40 minutes. Less if you half the recipe, longer if you double it.

2 thoughts on “Brownies II

Leave a Reply

