Baking Powder Biscuits

Something I learned early in my collection of family recipes is that we have a secret ingredient. It’s not love, although I suppose the food contains that too. No, the real key to our recipes is heavy cream. Does your ingredient list call for milk? Replace it with cream. Even whipping cream will do in a pinch.
My family, specifically my mother, is so used to this rule that although many recipes call for milk, we automatically replace it .This recipe is a perfect example. It listed milk, but my mom reminded me that cream turns a somewhat dry biscuit into a heavenly treat. Sure, you can use whole, 2%, or even skim. But I promise you, you’ll neer regret cream.
Baking Powder Biscuits
okay. Time for some honesty. I didn’t have cream on hand. I used milk. And oh my goodness did I notice a difference! Never again. It’s got to be cream or nothing. Two more things. I cheated when it came time to roll out the dough. I’ve never produced particularly flaky biscuits, so I made the dough half of the intended thickness, then folded it in half and lightly rolled it again so that there was a built in layer. And when you’re cutting the biscuits, feel free to use whatever you have on hand. Drinking glasses are fair game.

2 cups flour
4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
4 Tbsps shortening
¾ cup cream

Preheat the oven to 450oF.
Sift flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut in shortening with a pastry cutter or a fork until the mixture has the appearance of course corn meal, working mixture for as short a time as possible.
Add cream, stirring only enough to combine ingredients.
Turn out onto a floured board and knead until smooth, for about one minute. Pat or roll out ½-inch thick and cut out biscuits. Place on a cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

