Pancakes

I realize that I’ve been down on breakfast food in my previous posts. However, I’ve been doing some soul searching. I think… I might actually like it. And I think I like it most when I make it for myself. It’s turned into a ritual: wake up early, throw on my glasses, and grab my cast iron. The cooking wakes me up, and the end product is like a pat on the back—“Good job! You’re so together! Enjoy your spoils and go win the day!” So allow me to say, yes, I like breakfast, just don’t make it for me. Plus I love pancake batter.

But I have another confession to make.
These pancakes were not breakfast-fare. I came home after a particularly frustrating battle against the public bus and train systems (I lost), and I needed something sweet. Maple syrup. I therefore needed a vessel to deliver my syrup. No stale bread, so no French toast. Waffle maker is with my parents, so no waffles. I have a frying pan—pancakes it is.

Pancakes
I know it’s tempting, but resist the temptation to over mix the batter. The more you mix, the less fluffy the pancakes. I find it most useful to mix everything in a bowl that can pour. It makes the process all that much simpler. And makes sure that the pan is warmed-up before you start; it helps avoid the classic burnt-first-pancake.

2 cups buttermilk
2 cups flour
2 Tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking soda
½ tsp baking powder
1 large egg
3 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled
1-2 tsp vegetable oil

Mix buttermilk, egg, and butter together in a small bowl. Separately, whisk flour, sugar, baking soda, and baking powder.
Combine mixtures until just barely incorporated.
Pour into pre-heated pan with oil. Flip when bubbles rise to the surface of the dough.

2 thoughts on “Pancakes

Leave a Reply

