German Apple Pancake

Around this time last year, I joined the local food coop. Every other week, the inevitable feeling of excitement came as I searched through the order list. Suddenly I became far too ambitious.
“Why of course I want ten pounds of onions. How practical!”
“Fifteen pumpkin pie pumkpins? I’ll roast them all in my free time!”
The biggest order I ever made was ¼ bushel of apples. This rounds out to about 40 smallish apples. That’s a lot. I quickly ran out of things to do with them. Apple tart, apple pastry, apple dumplings, not mention apple sauce and apple fritters, apple cider—I was the Johnny Appleseed of my neighborhood.

Thankfully, just as I was getting desperate, I discovered this recipe. It’s quick, easy, and relatively healthy. I’m finally back to the point where I am buying apples, and this is one of my favorite things to do with them.

German Apple Pancake
The amount of flour you use in this recipe can really change things. The less you add, the more custard-like the result. More flour means thicker, with almost a crust. Whatever you choose, just be sure to mix everything well so it all bakes together.

2 Tbsp melted butter
1 Tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
2-3 wedged apples
3 eggs
1 cup milk
¼-½ cup flour
¼ tsp salt
¾ tsp baking powder
3 Tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 350oF.
Melt butter in a glass pie pan and sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon. Top with apple slices. Bake until apples are slightly soft, about 10 minutes.
Meanwhile, whisk eggs and milk. Add flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar. Beat everything together.
Pour batter over softened apples and bake an additional 25-40 minutes, depending on the size of your pan.

2 thoughts on “German Apple Pancake

Leave a Reply

