Puppy Chow

It rained the other day. I mean, it really rained. Sheets of water came down for hours, and giant puddles formed in the streets. I love a good rainstorm, lighting and all. It makes me think of home and comfort. Rain (in my family) means sitting on the front porch with a bowl of popcorn on your lap, wrapped up in a blanket, with a wet dog continually bumping the rocking chair.

Alas, these past few days I’ve had a pretty aggressive sore throat, so the last thing I wanted was to get a popcorn hull lodged in my esophagus. I needed to make myself a snack for the rain-watching.

Everyone in my family loves puppy chow. You’d have to be crazy not to. Whenever there is a family gathering–graduation, birthday, holiday, vacation–there will be puppy chow. I wouldn’t be surprised if my cousin someday replaces his birthday cake with this sweet. Although, the candles might not work quite as well.

What surprises me most is that puppy chow hasn’t permeated the east coast quite yet. A few of my friends had never heard of it until I made it one day. Someone else tried to eat it as cereal and poured milk on top, resulting in the sweetest breakfast cereal that boy had ever tasted. That concoction might actually taste good, but I’m not sure if I’m up for a breakfast that sweet. I’ll take it plain, and it will be gone in under an hour.
Puppy Chow
You’re going to need a clean, plastic bag for this. The easiest thing to do is have a stash on had. Next time you’re at the local grocery store, ask for an extra bag. They are sanitary, as long as you don’t put anything in it, of course. And make sure you do any shaking over the sink. Just in case there’s a hole in your bag. Be gentle when mixing, and everything should be fine.

1 cup butter
1 cup crunchy peanut butter
12 oz chocolate chips
1 box Rice Chex cereal (about 16 cups)
4 cups powdered sugar

In a large pot, melt butter, peanut butter, and chocolate over medium-low heat. Stir constantly so the chocolate doesn’t burn.
Once everything is combined, remove from heat and pour cereal into the pot. Carefully mix everything together.
Separately, line a large mixing bowl with a plastic bag. Pour half of powdered sugar (2 cups) into the bowl. Once cereal mixture is fully mixed, put into bowl as well. Top with the other half of the powdered sugar (2 cups) and twist the bag closed.
Holding the bag closed with one hand, and being sure to stay over the sink, start to mix everything together with your free hand. Everyone has their own technique. Mine involves flipping over a lot, and then frustrated shaking. I know you can do better.
And that’s it! Store in an airtight container, although if your family is anything like mine, there is no use even taking it out of the bag.

One thought on “Puppy Chow

  1. Pingback: Brownies III | The Family Aprons

Leave a Reply

