Spaghetti Pie

September is officially here, and for me that means it’s time for perfect running weather. And perfect running food. Delicious pasta and lots of it. Unfortunately, there are only so many days of tomato sauce a girl has in her. I hit my limit pretty early on.

I learned this recipe when I was 14, and I’ve loved it ever since. Literally, the only thing wrong with the recipe is its name: Spaghetti Pie. When I get to this point, telling others about one of my favorite dinners, they picture sweet pie crust filled with piles of pasta. Do not make this same mistake. It is an absolutely amazing combination of spaghetti and cheese, baked together in a casserole dish.

There are a few different versions of this recipe, but I have chosen to give you the purest from them all. You can serve this dish with any sauce you choose, or none at all if you’re so inclined. And if you have time, maybe you can help me think of a new name for it.

Spaghetti Pie
I have a tendency to cook this a little longer than the recommended time. My reasoning for this is the crunchy cheese that, I believe, adds just a little bit more. This recipe can be made ahead of time and stored in the refrigerator for a day. We use it as our Christmas dinner, along with lasagna, when my entire family gets together. Sometimes, we even sneak a little spinach into the mixture as a new layer. You can blanch the spinach if you want, but the difference is so slight it rarely makes it worth the effort. One more thing. It stays together better if you press the spaghetti into the pan. However, the spaghetti is very sticky. The solution is to top the spaghetti with the mozzarella, then push everything down.

16 oz spaghetti – cooked and cooled
3 eggs
½ cup shredded Parmesan
¼ cup parsley
16 oz shredded mozzarella

Preheat oven to 350oF.
Mix together eggs, Parmesan, and parsley. Pour over cooked spaghetti and combine, stirring slowly.
In a 9×13 pan, press in half of spaghetti mixture. Top with 8 oz of mozzarella. Repeat. Pack down firmly.
Bake for 20-25 minutes.

One thought on “Spaghetti Pie

Leave a Reply

