English Muffin in a Loaf

I blow hot and cold with breakfast. Some days I go straight to fried chicken and mashed potatoes, other days it’s the full spread: eggs, waffles, freshly squeezed orange juice. In an effort to encourage myself to join the hordes of breakfast lovers, I’ve been coming up with easy breakfasts.

But there is only so much oatmeal a girl can eat.

So the other day, I decided that I wanted some Eggs Benedict…

Except I didn’t have an English muffin. Or Hollandaise sauce.

Luckily, Hollandaise sauce is easy. A little egg yolk, a little lemon juice, and you’re set. An English muffin, however, was a little trickier. Shaping the muffins and making them all consistent widths, plus the fact that I was hungry in the moment and it takes about two hours to make the muffins. So that morning was won by cereal.

Now, however, I am planning ahead. Just in time for a breakfast-themed dinner.

English Muffin Loaf

As should be obvious by now, I am not the biggest fan of baking. The proofing of the dough, finding the correct place to raise the dough, waiting and waiting and waiting for everything to be ready. And even though I love to utilize the bread machine, this is not the best recipe for it. There isn’t any kneading or proofing, so it shouldn’t be much of a challenge. I used mine to mix, but I later realized that it was unnecessary. Too late.

6 cups unsifted flour
2 pkg yeast
1 Tbsp sugar
2 tsp salt
¼ tsp baking soda
2 cups warm milk
½ cup warm water
½ cup cornmeal

Combine 3 cups of flour, yeast, sugar, salt, and soda.
Pour in the warm liquid and beat well. Stir in the rest of the flour to make a stiff batter.
Spoon into two 8½ x 4½ inch loaf pans that have been greased and sprinkled with cornmeal.
Dust the top of the dough with the remaining cornmeal. Cover and let rise in a warm place for 45 minutes.
When dough is done raising, bake at 400oF for 25 minutes.
Remove from the pans immediately after baking and cool.

One thought on “English Muffin in a Loaf

Leave a Reply

