Scotcheroos

My family has a tradition of running. My dad and I used to go on runs together when I was younger, until he decided biking offered less chance of an injury. My mom used to run track in high school, and so far my brothers and I have followed in that tradition. As my family has run hundreds and hundreds of laps around various tracks, only a few things have changed. The distances are now measured in meters, not yards. Tracks are no longer made of cinder. And post-race food, I am sure, has evolved into delicious confections, something fit for car trips and parties.

My favorite of these treats, the scotcheroo, has been dwindling as peanut allergies take off. Thankfully, no one in my family has this allergy, so I can fill the kitchen with peanut butter to my heart’s content.
This recipe is another one of those when you cut off just a little piece. And then another one. And another. All of a sudden you’ve had a row.
But honestly, there are worse things you could be eating. I have a friend who allows her children to eat these for breakfast, figuring that they couldn’t be much worse than most sugary cereals. Obviously, I follow that logic any time I have scotcheroos in the house.
Scotcheroos

When you’re making this dish, be sure to soak the pan before it’s completely cooled. The mixture can turn to glue quickly, albeit a very tasty glue. Speaking of glue, be careful when you’re initially cooking on the stove, if the mixture goes too far into the boiling stage, the final result will be a rock made of cereal and peanut butter. You can always add more peanut butter if you don’t trust your first few batches. It might make the bars a little squishier and less sweet, so try not to over do it.

1½ cups peanut butter, creamy
1 cup white sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
6 cups rice cereal
1½ cups butterscotch chips
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

In a large saucepan, melt the peanut butter, sugar, and syrup over medium-high heat. As soon as bubbles appear, remove from head and mix in cereal.
Lightly press mixture into a 9×13 pan. Don’t press too hard or the scotcheroos will be very dense.
In a separate, microwave-safe bowl, combine the two different chips. Microwave in 30 second spurts, mixing each time, until fully melted.
Pour melted chips over cereal and spread to evenly cover.
Let rest for 1-2 hours, until everything has set. Eat at room temperature.

2 thoughts on “Scotcheroos

Leave a Reply

