Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookes

As with most families, mine has a chocolate chip cookie recipe that has been handed down from generation to generation. I don’t actually know where it started, but we credit my great-grandma Daisy in the family cookbook. Honestly, I don’t really care where it originated, but I am thankful that it found its way into my childhood. These cookies are delicious right out of the oven when they are still falling apart, and before they reach the oven, and when they’ve cooled down enough to be dipped in milk.

Whenever someone brings home a good friend, or if we need to supply a dessert for a party, or even if it’s Easter, these cookies appear. Their beauty lies in their simplicity–my mother claims it takes only three minutes to get the first batch into the oven. (Both she and my grandmother are now to the point where they have memorized the recipe; that is one of my culinary goals.)

This morning I am driving to go visit a friend, and I just decided, 10 minutes ago, that I need to bring her a treat. I’m guessing only half makes it to her house.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies
We use instant oats in the recipe, and it’s never resulted in a soggy cookie. Use old fashioned if that’s what you have, but I’ve found that the intense oatmeal flavor tends to dominate the otherwise perfectly balanced cookie. Also, in the original recipe, my great-grandma calls for one cup of vegetable shortening and no butter. However, I was raised in a house where butter was celebrated, so I substituted out half the shortening. If you use one cup of butter without any shortening, the cookies will be flat and crispy, although still very tasty.

½ cup vegetable shortening
½ cup butter
¾ cup brown sugar
¾ cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1½ cups flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
2 cups oatmeal
1 cup milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350oF.
Cream together shortening, butter, and both sugars. When fully creamed, mix in eggs and vanilla. Add flour, salt, and baking soda into mixture. Slowly add oatmeal. When fully combined, gently mix in chips—don’t use an electric mixer or you will likely chop up the chocolate.
Scoop golf ball portions onto an ungreased cookie sheet. (I do four rows of three, generally yielding 36 cookies.)
Bake 10-12 minutes.

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookes

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Mom’s Cookies | the b Positive Project

Leave a Reply

