Pizza Roll

For no reason in particular, I never enjoyed pizza; at least, I never liked the pizza we had delivered. It might be something about the freshness of the veggies, the potential sogginess of crust, or maybe the excess of sugar in the sauce.

However, once I figured out the magic of homemade crust, the church of pizza had a new convert. Grilled, baked, folded over, maybe with apples and cinnamon… I’m hooked. A few months back, my mother made something that my aunt has entitled pizza loaf. I cannot get over this name. It makes me think of a pizza-meatloaf. What a terrible combination. Luckily, it tasted nothing like this.

No matter how many times we have made this, the name has remained pizza loaf, despite my protestations. I will present it to you as a pizza roll, because it is literally a square pizza that has been rolled, but keep in mind, no one in my family will know what you are saying.




Pizza Roll

I use a standard pizza dough recipe, so you can use your favorite. I also use a bread machine. It’s true that some people find making dough to be peaceful, but most of the time I find it time consuming. You can also put any toppings you like: pesto, chicken, pepperoni, garlic, spinach, anything. But, knowing the picky eaters I live with, we’ll be having the classic recipe of cheese and Canadian bacon. I might sneak some more spices while they aren’t paying attention.

Pizza Dough

¾ cup warm water
1⅓ Tbsp olive oil
1½ tsp sugar
¾ tsp salt
2 cups bread flour
2 tsp active yeast

Toppings

5 Tbsp butter, melted
½ tsp salt
½ tsp oregano
⅔ cup provolone cheese
¼ lb Canadian bacon

Preheat the oven to 350oF.
Once the dough is ready, roll it out to a rectangle about 12in x 18in. Spread the melted butter on the dough and sprinkle with spices, cheese, and Canadian bacon.
Roll the dough so that the width of the roll is the 12 inch side. Pinch the sides so the cheese doesn’t escape and transfer to a baking sheet covered with foil.
Bake for 30 minutes and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

