Corn Sausage Chowder

Normally, I would rank spring as one of my least favorite seasons. The constant rain, wind, and clouds grate on my nerves after a week or so. However, this year might convince me to reevaluate my views. The weather has been warm, hot even, reaching the 80s consistently; my younger brother has been tanning in the backyard for weeks. Today, however, the temperature has dipped, my brother has come inside, and it is the perfect day for some comfort food via my mother.

Even though Mom claims to have no recipes of her own, she is constantly in the business of swapping her secrets with friends and family. This recipe came from one of these exchanges. One of my father’s rugby teammates gave this corn chowder recipe to my mother years ago. It has become a cold weather standby. And although snow usually graces the yard on the evenings we eat this chowder, I had a craving.



The original recipe calls for 2-3 beers, “anything in the fridge is fine.” We’ll be out, so my mother goes out to the store and picks up a six-pack. Once you turn the page over, the first step reads: “drink one beer.” It continues in this fashion, sporadically instructing the cook to drink the other bottles. She forgets every time, expecting to pour the beer into the chowder. In honor of my mom, cheers.

Iowa Corn Sausage Chowder

This chowder can pack some heat, depending on the Italian sausage. Honestly, the chowder isn’t the same without it. Yet if I know the young ones in my family will be eating, I choose regular sausage. After the potatoes are added, the stew appears to need more water. Don’t do it, don’t add more. By the time you add the milk, everything will even out.

1 lb Italian pork sausage
1 cup onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cups water
4 cup potatoes, cubed
1/4 tsp oregano
Salt & Ground pepper
1 can creamed corn
1 cup whole kernel corn
1 12oz can evaporated milk

Cook sausage, onion, and garlic in a pot over medium heat. When the meat is browned, drain the fat from the pot and return to heat.
Add potatoes, water, and spices, bringing to a boil and simmer 15 to 20 minutes, or until the potatoes are tender.
Stir in the corn and evaporated milk and continue to cook until heated through.

Leave a Reply

